Scholar Check-in: Mauricio Novoa

Mauricio Novoa

Mauricio Novoa

Gettysburg College, junior

The last two weeks haven’t been as eventful as the beginning, but of course a break from college craziness is always good. Classes are the same, with still more reading that I care for but no tests or anything (the benefits of being an English major). The real fun was when the hurricane arrived and we all prepared for the apocalypse. During lunchtime the Saturday it came, everyone went to the dining center and took as much food as they could to make sure no one had to come out mid-storm to eat. Although we weren’t hit as hard as other places (condolences out to those who were badly hit and their families), one of the transformers across the street caught fire and set the trees around it on fire as well, which consequently took out our power. We spent the night in the dark house, but the next day we were told that because there were no generators connected to life safety devices, our house (along with 2 other fraternity houses) had to be moved to the Gettysburg Hotel until the power came back. It was probably the greatest room I have ever slept in in my life. I did not mind having to spend multiple nights away from my own bed, as we were told we would be. But then, the power was fixed that night. The most heartbreaking moment in my life was looking at the super comfy bed, the clean bathroom and towels I didn’t have to clean myself, and luxury I could very well never see again, and leaving them all behind. Excuse me while I go cry in a corner now…

Posted on November 8, 2012, in CDI Scholars, Mauricio Novoa, Scholar Check-in and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

