Mauricio Novoa: Check-in

Gettysburg College, junior

 

The last few weeks have been filled with many exciting things. I’m still working hard at my schoolwork and volunteer things, but at times I lose focus on my schoolwork from putting in so much time with the volunteering. I guess after 2+ years I still have trouble with my time management skills, but I’m working on it.

Recently, my fraternity held a big philanthropy event on campus for the LIU Migrant Education Program that I volunteer for. We titled the event Rocky SevSN. The event was a night of inflatables, which included inflatable boxing, sumo wrestling, 3D twister, and human foosball.  We ended up raising $400 in donations, and we are going to donate $500. It was a great success and possibly will become a new, annual philanthropy event for our fraternity. As philanthropy chair for our fraternity, I felt really good at the end of the event.

There was also a showcase of photos of migrant workers here in the Adams County community. The event was led by a prominent member of the LIU Migrant Ed program who was once a migrant worker himself. It was great to see how beautifully a usually ignored community is portrayed, and how many people came out to indulge in the art as well.

That’s all I have for this check-in, but I’ll keep everyone posted on any other exciting things that come up!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Posted on October 29, 2012, in CDI Scholars, College Scholar Check-in, Mauricio Novoa, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

